California, Here we Come!

News Alert! News Alert! I have the information you have ALL been waiting for! Where are we headed next?

California! Martinez, California to be exact!

I am excited, and very nervous all at the same time! I have contracted with a new company (no problems with the last company they just didn’t really have anything available in my specialty and area we wanted to be. I’ll miss my really wonderful and friendly recruiter though!). So, we are headed to Martinez, which if you are unfamiliar with the area is about an hour Northeast of San Fransisco! We will be staying in a town a little north of Martinez called Vallejo since it was the closest RV park we could find, about 20 minutes from the hospital.

The position was listed online as a Mother/Baby but when I did the phone interview they were looking for level II nursery. We talked about my experience, specialty and comfort level along with the patients they normal see and decided I would still be a good fit, even though I have never officially worked in a level II nursery. (LV you prepared me well!)

I mentioned that I am excited and nervous and that’s mainly because of the hours not the starting over part (that comes with the travel nursing territory). The position was listed as 3 12 hour shifts but their need must be greater than that because in the interview the manager said she was looking for someone to work 5 8 hour shifts (This isn’t uncommon in California because of their nursing laws most full-time employee’s work 5 8’s since anything over 8 is considered overtime in a day) BUT, since I will be working nights I really didn’t want to work 5 shifts a week because I know I won’t wake up early to have time to do anything in a given day as I would if I worked days. (I think 5 8’s is a day shift’s dream, 7-3 I’d take it in a heartbeat! I think) So I told the manager I didn’t want to work that and she offered me 4 12 hour shifts, 48 hours a week. So THAT’S why I’m scared! That’s a lot of hours in a work week! I’ve done it before, without dying(ha!) once when LV was short-staffed for a couple of weeks so I know it can be done, it’s just really taxing and cuts down on your time off.

These last few weeks of trying to find an assignment have almost made me rethink this whole travel nursing gig. (I know, I hear you all saying “yay, come back home!” from my Louisiana friends!) I was truly spoiled with the ease of finding this first position in Helena. The job popped up, I applied, interview the next day, accepted the job in the interview and signed the contract the day after. Wam-bam and done! It couldn’t have been more textbook perfect. This next assignment was work though! I have spent the last few weeks researching location, pay, talking to new recruiters, filling out new applications, offering references (sorry for the million calls but thanks for the good reviews!) I was blown away by the differences in pay hospitals in the same area can have(a whole other story for another blog one day!)

That being said, I couldn’t be happier with the area we are headed to and the timing of this assignment. We are going to be an hour (give or take a few minutes depending on traffic) from San Fransisco and the Bay area. I have a cousin who lives in San Fransisco right now and I’m super happy to get to see her!

So what does this mean for the next few months?! We get to plan our trip home!!!! Yayyy!!! Like I mentioned, I have been real homesick lately (just missing friends, family and familiarity), coupled with the stress of the unknown. It’s all just made me want to go home! But alas, were back on track and have plans for our La visit in December! Unfortunately this assignment doesn’t end until December 27 (really the 28th since working night shift I wont get off until the next morning) So most likely we will book a plane to fly home that day or the day after! I think we are going to try to stay for 2 weeks at least so everyone clear your schedules so you can have quality Andrea and Jon time!! Yayy, the Nomads are headed h0me!

I think that about sums it up. I do want to say a special thank you to a few friends who helped me out when I was needing some local advice on areas to live! It’s hard to go into an area to live by just blindly picking so the advice I got was well appreciated and helpful! I still want to write more about my trouble’s getting a California license and finding a job in CA, but this is getting too long so I’ll save that for another day!

See you soon Cali!

All our love,

The Nomads

 

One thought on “California, Here we Come!

Leave a Reply

